Welcome to the blog!

While living here in South Africa I picked up on a phrase that I really love and seek to live my life by. It is:

umuntu ngumuntu ngabantu

Translated from isiZulu it means, “A person is a person through other persons.”

Having just now, after six months of trial, gotten into regular journalling I thought I might try digital journalling out. What better way to connect with other persons than through a web journal that others can read, comment on and experience as well? I know.

So here it goes. This blog is meant for my self-expression to be shared with others. I hope you enjoy the musings, the experiences and the thoughts that flow through my head as I live my life. I also hope that through this we can get to know each other a little better and that you would share some of your life with me. After all, umuntu ngumuntu ngabantu.

Shalom!

If you would like to check out my other blog at http://recreative.wordpress.com where I post some of my writing. Take part and share there too.

Also, my wife and I kept a blog while in South AFrica. Check it out at http://thembamission.spaces.live.com.

If you want to go way back (not really, I just did that for dramatic affect) then check out our old New Zealand blog at http://www.ekchitwood.blogspot.com.

Peace!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Welcome to the blog!

  1. Ahmahlyah

    Wait a minute! I thought you were spending a year and two months at Themba, you changed your mind?

    • recreative

      Yes, unfortunately we have some financial requirements back in the States that were unforeseen when you were here. Some changes that the Obama administration has made to volunteering/education loan repayment policies have affected us. So sadly we have to return to the USA. It is not what we were hoping for, but we know it will all work out in the end. We are going to be able to do some state-side work for Themba…and that will be good. However, it is very sad at the same time.

  2. ahmahlyah

    So, where will you be based in U.S? I was certainly looking forward to reconnecting with you at Themba. Well, how about Israel, can you make plans to visit us here?

  3. G'day!

    I am impresed with your blogging. I’d like to be so organised!I have always loved the concept of the ubuntu spirit. We talked about it in Singapore(at the ‘Giraffe’ youth leadership course) with young adults from OZ, Singapore and Malaysia.

    • recreative

      Thanks for the encouragement. I appreciate the positive feedback, it’s what keeps me posting!

      What a great space for that kind of dialogue on the ubuntu spirit. People from all over connecting with each other and living it out. You know, as I’ve learned more about the ubuntu spirit, the ethics of ubuntu and ubuntu and non-Afrikans i can’t help but think if Martin Luther as he talks about us all becoming ‘one cake’ in Holy Communion. I wrote a short study/article on Psalm 133, the ubuntu spirit and the Holy Spirit bringing us together as one body or ‘one cake’. If you ever want to take a look at it, let me know!

      Peace.

Leave a Reply

