“There is no bull**** in my heaven.”

I am reading The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold (I’ve been wanting to for a while now and when I saw a paperback copy for a quarter I jumped on it). The book is, so far, pretty good. It reminds me a tad of Poisonwood Bible…but not quite on par.

Anyways, the premise (no spoilers really) is that this girl gets murdered and she watches as events unfold in life on earth; all from ‘her’ heaven. Her heaven smells a certain way, has certain events in it etc.

One line that stuck out to me was the one that I used for the title of this blog.

“There is no bull**** in my heaven.”

I am always interested in how movies, books and music pieces portray or describe heaven. From Robin Williams in “What Dreams May Come” to “I Can Only Imagine” on the Christian radio networks there are a myriad of words and images trying to describe what most would say is indescribable.

However, I think this line from The Lovely Bones catches the reality of heaven better than a lot of other pop culture references could. And Paul agrees.

He writes in his first letter to the Corinthians, “For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.” (13:12)

There will be no hiding, no pretenses, no hidden knowledge, no ‘bs’ in heaven. And that is such a beatiful thing. We will all partake of the knowledge of one another and we will all be knit together in a fellowship that isn’t torn apart by knowledge of what other people are like. I can only imagine what that will be like – when in heaven there isn’t any bull.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

