This Year, Santa Was a Saint

Good ole' St. Nick!

Yes, really, Santa was a saint…who lived in what is now modern day Turkey…and his name was Nicholas (READ MORE).

Although interesting, this topic is not the thrust of my title (sorry for the bait and switch).

I’m just trying to say that Santa was a saint this year by bringing me some stupendous stocking stuffers – TWO NEW BOOKS!

If anyone knows me, they understand that I am a bookworm. I love reading, specifically thought provoking non-fiction and detailed, but readable, histories and social commentaries. This year I am excited to be the proud owner of two tomes on world religions that were released in the last year:

1) American Grace: How Religion Divides and Unites Us by David Campbell and Robert Putnam

2) God Is Not One: The Eight Rival Religions That Run the World and Why Their Differences Matter by Stephen Prothero

Why do you care?

Well, as soon as I am done reading each of these books I will be sure to post reviews. So, in the New Year please stay posted for some thoughts and comments from UbuntuSpirit about these two books.

Thanks Santa!

Leave a comment

Filed under Religion and the Public Sphere, Religious Education

Leave a Reply

